Punk 57

punk-57Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas
New Adult Contemporary Romance

“We were perfect together. Until we met.”

Misha

I can’t help but smile at the words in her letter. She misses me.

In fifth grade, my teacher set us up with pen pals from a different school. Thinking I was a girl, with a name like Misha, the other teacher paired me up with her student, Ryen. My teacher, believing Ryen was a boy like me, agreed.

It didn’t take long for us to figure out the mistake. And in no time at all, we were arguing about everything. The best take-out pizza. Android vs. iPhone. Whether or not Eminem is the greatest rapper ever…

And that was the start. For the next seven years, it was us.

Her letters are always on black paper with silver writing. Sometimes there’s one a week or three in a day, but I need them. She’s the only one who keeps me on track, talks me down, and accepts everything I am.

We only had three rules. No social media, no phone numbers, no pictures. We had a good thing going. Why ruin it?

Until I run across a photo of a girl online. Name’s Ryen, loves Gallo’s pizza, and worships her iPhone. What are the chances?

F*ck it. I need to meet her.

I just don’t expect to hate what I find.

Ryen

He hasn’t written in three months. Something’s wrong. Did he die? Get arrested? Knowing Misha, neither would be a stretch.

Without him around, I’m going crazy. I need to know someone is listening. It’s my own fault. I should’ve gotten his number or picture or something.

He could be gone forever.

Or right under my nose, and I wouldn’t even know it.

add-to-goodreads-button

“Those letters are everything. They’re her and me, kids just trying to figure themselves out and going through all out growing pains. They’re where I first started to fall for her and need her. They’re my fucking songs and a part of me. Our history is in those letters. Every beautiful thing she ever said to me to tilt my world on its side.” –Penelope Douglas, Punk 57 (Loc 3871)

“His sister, Annie, kept making fun of him, screaming that his Hogwarts letter had arrived.” –Penelope Douglas, Punk 57 (Loc 414)

10 points to…Ryen! for her Harry Potter wax seal. It was a Gryffindor seal — The question is, where can we get one of those?

“I learned a long time ago that you don’t need to reveal everything inside of you to the people around you. They like to judge, and I’m happier when they don’t. Some things stay hidden.” — Penelope Douglas, Punk 57 (Loc 477)

“We’re all ugly, Ryen. The only difference is, some hide it and some wear it.” –Penelope Douglas, Punk 57 (Loc 4579)

“You don’t have to be embarrassed. No one does you better than you. You can’t be replaced. Not everyone will see that, but only you need to.” –Penelope Douglas, Punk 57 (Loc 4601)

“No one has ever come close to meaning to me in person what mean to me in your letters.” –Penelope Douglas, Punk 57 (Loc 5328)

punk
(Image Source)

bad girlfriend // theory of a deadman
bleed it out // linkin park
blow me (one last kiss) // p!nk
colors // halsey
dirty little secret // all-american rejects
do you know who you are // atreyu
happy song // bring me the horizon
i think we’re alone now // tiffany
lose yourself // eminem
love the way you lie // eminem
more human than human // white zombie
mudshovel // staind
sk8er boi // avril lavign
so cold // breaking benjamin
square hammer // ghost
stupid girl // garbage
true friends // bring me the horizon
where’d you go // fort minor
wildest dreams // taylor swift

**playlist compiled by author**

(graphic/fanmix by yours truly — click image to enlarge)

odd one // sick puppies
heathens // twenty one pilots
the diary of jane // breaking benjamin
ten million voices // shaman’s harvest
be somebody // thousand foot krutch
octahate // ryn weaver
gentleman // theory of a deadman
jenny // studio killers
trouble // halsey
you’re such a // hailee steinfeld
bad intentions // niykee heaton
problem // natalia kills
desire // meg myers
these are the lies // the cab
smack down // thousand foot krutch
just the beginning // sick puppies

“Speak your mind, and you give others permission to do the same.” –Penelope Douglas, Punk 57 (Loc 5185)

Penelope Douglas is a writer living in Las Vegas. Born in Dubuque, Iowa, she is the oldest of five children. Penelope attended the University of Northern Iowa, earning a Bachelor’s degree in Public Administration, because her father told her to “just get the damn degree!” She then earned a Masters of Science in Education at Loyola University in New Orleans, because she HATED public administration. One night, she told the bouncer at the bar where she worked that his son was hot, and three years later she was married. To the son, not the bouncer. They have spawn, but just one. A daughter named Aydan. Penelope loves sweets, The 100, and she shops at Target almost daily.

Website | Twitter | Pinterest | Facebook | Goodreads

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AUSB&N | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play

Leave a Reply

